Log in




Advancing psychology for a better Idaho!


Dr. Linda Hatzenbuehler (left) was awarded the Association of State & Provincial Psychology Board's (ASPPB) 2022 State & Provincial Service Award at ASPPB's most recent meeting in Washington, DC.  Dr. Hatzenbuehler just finished her most recent term on the Idaho Board of Psychologist Examiners earlier this summer.  Here's a description of some of her many contributions to public protection, education and psychology in Idaho.  Congratulations and our thanks to Dr. Hatzenbuehler for her service!

Interested in marketing opportunities with IPA? 
Click here for details.

Click on underlined events below for more information and to register:

Upcoming events

Featured member


Congrats to Dr. Christopher Edwards, who was recently awarded IPA Fellow status to recognize his service to IPA and the profession of psychology. Dr. Edwards has been involved in IPA since arriving in Idaho in 2010, and has held various roles including Secretary, President and Treasurer. Currently, he is President-elect and has been busy working on the upcoming Annual Convention. It is an honor and a privilege to welcome Dr. Edwards as an IPA Fellow. 

IPA's 16th Fellow is Dr. Helen Napier.  Fellow status recognizes members for their service to the association and the field of psychology. Dr. Napier joined IPA in 2011. She has been a dedicated and active member since, serving on IPA's Board of Directors from 2012-2015 and later as co-Chair of the Membership Committee.  She also utilized a unique idea to launch the current student dues/registration scholarship fund.  Most notable is Dr. Napier’s service as a member of the Idaho Board of Psychologist Examiners (BOPE). Dr. Napier began her first term on the BOPE in 2015; she completes her final term in June. She served as the Chair from 2019 to 2022.  

Dr. Napier clearly exemplifies the characteristics of servant leadership and is well deserving of IPA Fellow status. Please join us in congratulating Dr. Napier!

CONGRATS to Dr. Virginia Page Haviland, a recent recipient of IPA Fellow Status, which recognizes members for their service to the association and the field of psychology. Dr. Haviland is a past president of IPA and she was a key part of the IPA advocacy team that wrote the bill allowing psychologists with appropriate education to prescribe medication in the state of Idaho. Dr. Haviland then was a graduate of the inaugural class of the Masters of Science in Clinical Psychopharmacology post-doctoral program at Idaho State University. She continues to serve on IPA’s Advocacy Committee and sub-committee on RxP.  We are grateful for all she has done and continues to do for psychology in Idaho!

A huge shout out to our newest IPA Fellow, Dr. Budd Kendrick.  Dr. Kendrick has been an IPA member for 47 years! He has served in various roles within IPA and in other state professional organizations – Idaho Mental Health Association, Idaho State University’s Trio Advisory Board, and Idaho State School and Hospital’s Human Rights Committee. He worked for the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, served as a designated examiner, and also ran a successful private practice for 25 years. The list goes on and on. But without further ado...

Barney Greenspan, Ph.D., ABPP, APA Fellow has been selected as a 2022 co-recipient of the prestigious OUTSTANDING PSYCHOLOGIST award for APA Division 31 (State, Provincial & Territorial Affairs). Criteria included: outstanding leadership in a state association; advocacy through a state association; an impact on psychology and clients through distinguished service; and serving as a role model for active participation in organized psychology.     Dr. Greenspan is the first psychologist from Idaho selected for this honorific since its inception in 1985. 

IPA welcomes new President, Kelly Davis, PhD, MSCP, who received the official gavel at the association's recent membership meeting.  Dr. Davis earned her PhD at Idaho State University and works at Bingham Memorial Hospital in Blackfoot.  

IPA thanks Dr. Susan Martin, for all that she has done while serving as IPA's President over the past year.  It's been a year for the record books!  Dr. Martin will continue to serve as Past President for one more year.

At IPA's recent annual membership meeting, IPA member, Dr. Dennis Woody, was awarded IPA's most prestigious award, The John Cambareri Award for Excellence in Psychology.  The award, named after the first psychologist to be licensed in Idaho,  celebrates and recognizes those persons, now including Dr. Woody, who have provided distinguished service to the practice of psychology in Idaho.  Dr. Woody has demonstrated extraordinary accomplishments in the field and unparalleled excellence in promoting psychological health care services that this award was meant to recognize.  Full list of Cambareri Award winners.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software